Skip to content »
Skip to second navigation »



شرب أسفل فيبي فيجي في حفل الكافا التقليدية

نشرت by Bill Lehane, Writer

البلد: فيجي

التجربة

تقع في وسط اللا مكان ، في نطاق واسع ، الأزرق المحيط الهادئ ، وفيجي هي الوجهة الاولى لمجرد الحصول على بعيدا عن كل ذلك. الشواطئ الرملية ، وغروب الشمس رائع والغذاء الرخيص والشراب ليست سوى بعض من مناطق الجذب من هذه الدولة الجزيرة الصغيرة. معظم فريدة من نوعها بين هذه المعالم ، ومع ذلك ، يجب أن يكون المشروب القومي للكافا.

دعا إذا كنت قد سمعت أبدا من ذلك ، الكافا (الذي يعرف أيضا باسم Yaqona ، أو مشروب روحي) هي مصنوعة من شرب جذر الفلفل methstyicum بايبر. يبدو قليلا مثل المياه الموحلة ، ولكن حزم لكمة سرية. انها ليست الكحولية أو المخدرات ، لكنه لا يملك مسكن (الألم) الخصائص التي تجعل من الاسترخاء جدا للشرب. إذا كان هذا يبدو وكأنه شيء كنت غير متأكدة ولكن أود أن محاولة ، والخوف ثم لا ، لأن جرعة صغيرة من الكافا غير ضارة تماما. لتحميل مجرد أنه مع فيتامين ب ، الذي يعمل بمثابة ارتخاء العضلات الطبيعية والمضادة للاكتئاب. وإذا لم تكن متأكدا إلى أين أذهب لمحاولة العثور على حفل الكافا في فيجي... نحو سهلا كما هو العثور على القهوة في أمريكا الشمالية!

وتستخدم في الاحتفالات الكافا تقليد كل مناحي الحياة تقريبا الفيجية ، ولكن لم يكن لديك لتكون المحلية لمحاولة إعطائها. تقليديا ، إذا كنت حضور حفل القرية ، يجب عليك تقديم قطعة من الجذر الكافا معكم لعرضه على رئيس المحلية ، ولكن في مناطق أخرى هذا قد لا يكون ضروريا. ودعا في جميع الحالات ، سيقوم المشاركون يجلسوا في دائرة قبل وعاء كبير من الكافا على "tanoa" بأقدامهم تواجه بعيدا عن وعاء. ويتم شرب الفعلية من وعاء خشبي أصغر يسمى "بيلو" التي يتم تمريرها في جميع أنحاء المجموعة. لتحضير الشراب ، والجذر هو في الأرض قطعة من القماش مع هاون ومدقة ، التي تغمس حينئذ في الماء وتدليك وتقلص في tanoa.

لحضور حفل الكافا نفسها ، وسوف يبدأ المضيف عن طريق التحدث في فيجي ، ولكن لا تقلق ، عليك أن تعرف فقط بضع كلمات في المشاركة. رئيس هو أول من الشراب ، ومن ثم يتم تمرير بيلو حولها في دائرة. عندما يتم تمرير وعاء لك ، صفق مرة واحدة ويقول "بولا"! شرب وعاء أسفل دفعة واحدة قبل ان تقول "بولا!" مرة أخرى ، والتصفيق ثلاث مرات. لالمداراة اضافية ، يمكنك أن تقول أيضا "Vinaka" ، أو شكرا. سوف تشعر أنك ربما شفتيك الذهاب خدر ، ولكن هذا طبيعي جدا. بعد بضع جولات أخرى ، وسوف تشعر أنك الجسم كله الاسترخاء وكنت قد عرق قليلا ، على الرغم من أن يتم تقديم الشراب البارد. بحلول الوقت الذي ترك الحفل الكافا ، يجب عليك تجربة هادئة خفيفة الصلابة. وبدأت الآن أنت كما الفيجية صحيح!

صور

الخريطة

لغز

عند الذهاب إلىحفل لالكافا

الهواء المحيط الهادئ ، والقاري والخطوط الجوية الكورية على معظم الرحلات إلى فيجي (بما في ذلك الرحلات الجوية من اميركا الشمالية). ومع ذلك ، فإن الطريقة الأكثر عملية للوصول الى زيارة جزيرة نائية في إدماج زيارة الى هناك في رحلة الى استراليا ، من حيث يمكنك الحصول على رحلات أرخص بكثير. ليس مطلوبا من التأشيرات في وقت مبكر بالنسبة لمعظم البلدان المقدمة كنت البقاء أقل من أربعة أشهر.

أفضل وقت لزيارة فيجي للمشاركة في حفل الكافا التقليدية ما بين مايو واكتوبر تشرين الاول بسبب الطقس الجاف ودرجات الحرارة لطيفة 78-86 درجة فهرنهايت (26-30 درجة مئوية). عليك أيضا تجنب الرطوبة قوية الجزيرة يحصل بين نوفمبر ونيسان / أبريل.

خلاف ن 'ينتهي

ومعظم الفنادق أو برامج سياحية تقدم حفل الكافا ، وحتى لو كان هذا معقد جدا لترتيب ، وأحيانا كنت وسيتم تقديم بعض من جذر الحبيب بينما تسوق تذكارية في أنحاء الجزيرة. اذا كنت لا يذهب إلى قرية حفل الكافا ، وينبغي أن يكون هدية من الجذر الكافا يكون من السهل العثور على أي السوق المحلية لحوالي 15 دولارا أمريكيا للرطل.

في حين انها دائما على يقين من أن تكون ساخنة في فيجي ، واللباس لحفل الكافا بنفس الطريقة كما لو كنت أدخل الكنيسة. تغطية الخاص الساقين والكتفين ، وتذكر لإزالة حذائك قبل الجلوس في الدائرة. لا ينبغي أن أغطية للرأس ، والسراويل والنظارات الشمسية أن ترتديه.

إذا كان من المقرر الاحتفال الخاص الكافا لفترة زمنية محددة كجزء من جولة ، لا ينبغي أن نندهش إذا ما بدأ يحصل في وقت متأخر. مثل السكان المحليين لجعل النكات متكررة حول خطط سيولة في الجزيرة ، وسوف صرخ في كثير من الأحيان ، 'انها فيجي الوقت!'


كارب ديم! كتاب للقيام بهذه التجربة الآن!

سوف اختار لكم من الفندق الذي اخترته لتبدأ رحلتك على متن قارب للسيارات الذي يأخذك في قرى نهر الماضي و...
بدءا من 78،97 $ للشخص الواحد.

الفيديو

فيديو الجدار

أنت الآن نقله لدينا فيديو الجدار

مناقشة

واجه هذه والحصول على شيء للمشاركة؟ شهدت شيئا من هذا القبيل في مكان آخر؟ تبحث عن المشورة أو السفر الصحابة؟ استخدام هذا الفضاء لترك علامة الخاص. الكتاب والمحررين لدينا اكثر من سعداء للمساعدة في الإجابة على أسئلتك.

الناس من ذوي الخبرة


الأخيرة تويت

المدرجة أدناه هي معظم التعليقات الأخيرة التي أدلى على التغريد ل "الكافا حفل":

Skip to content »
Skip to second navigation »



Drink Down the Fiji Vibe at a Traditional Kava Ceremony

Published by Bill Lehane, Writer

Country: Fiji

The Experience

Nestled in the middle of nowhere, in the wide, blue Pacific Ocean, Fiji is a prime destination to just get away from it all. Sandy beaches, gorgeous sunsets and cheap food and drink are just some of the attractions of this little island nation. Most unique among these attractions, however, has to be the national drink of kava.

If you've never heard of it, kava (which is also known as Yaqona, or grog) is a drink made from the root of a pepper called piper methstyicum. It looks a bit like muddy water, but packs a secret punch. It's not alcoholic or narcotic, but it has analgesic (pain relief) properties that make it very relaxing to drink. If this sounds like something you're not sure about but would like to try, then fear not, because a small dose of kava is perfectly harmless. It's merely loaded with Vitamin B, which acts as a natural muscle relaxant and antidepressant. And if you're not sure where to go to try it… Finding a kava ceremony in Fiji is about as easy as finding coffee in North America!

Kava ceremonies are used in almost every tradition of Fijian life, but you don't have to be local to give it a try. Traditionally, if you attend a village ceremony, you should bring a piece of the kava root with you to offer to the local chief; but in other areas this may not be necessary. In all cases, participants will sit in a circle before a large bowl of kava called a “tanoa,” with their feet facing away from the bowl. The actual drinking is done from a smaller wooden bowl called a “bilo” that is passed around the group. To prepare the drink, the root is ground into a cloth with a mortar and pestle, which is then dipped in water and massaged and squeezed into the tanoa.

For the kava ceremony itself, the host will begin by speaking in Fijian, but don't worry; you only have to know a few words to take part. The chief is the first to drink, and then the bilo is passed around in a circle. When the bowl is passed to you, clap once and say “Bula!” Drink the bowl down in one go before saying “Bula!” again and clapping three times. For extra politeness, you can also say “Vinaka,” or thank you. You'll probably feel your lips going numb, but it's perfectly normal. After another few rounds, you will feel your whole body relax and you might sweat a little, even though the drink is served cold. By the time you leave the kava ceremony, you should experience a tranquil light-headedness. You are now initiated as a true Fijian!

Photos

Map

Puzzle

When to Go to Kava Ceremony

Air Pacific, Continental and Korean Airlines have the most flights to Fiji (including flights from North America). However, the most practical way to get to visit the remote island is to integrate a visit there into a trip to Australia, from where you can get much cheaper flights. Visas are not required in advance for most countries provided you're staying less than four months.

The best time to visit Fiji to partake in a traditional kava ceremony is between May and October because the weather is dry and the temperatures are a pleasant 78-86°F (26-30°C). You'll also avoid the strong humidity the island gets between November and April.

Odds n' Ends

Most hotels or tour packages will offer a kava ceremony, and if even that is too complicated to arrange, sometimes you will be offered some of the beloved root while souvenir shopping around the island. If you do go to a village kava ceremony, a gift of kava root should be easy to find at any local market for around US$15 for a pound.

While it's always sure to be hot in Fiji, dress for the kava ceremony in the same way as you would enter a church. Cover your legs and shoulders, and remember to remove your shoes before sitting down in the circle. Hats, shorts and sunglasses should not be worn.

If your kava ceremony is scheduled for a certain time as part of a tour, don't be surprised if it gets started late. Locals like to make frequent jokes about the fluidity of plans on the island, and will often exclaim, 'it's Fiji time!'


Carpe Diem! Book to do this experience now!

You'll be picked up from your selected hotel to begin your journey on a motor boat which takes you up the river past villages and ...
Starting from $78.97 per person.

Video

Video Wall

You are now being transfered to our Video Wall

Discussion

Experienced this and have something to share? Experienced something like this somewhere else? Looking for advise or travel companions? Use this space to leave your mark. Our writers and editors are more than happy to help answer your questions.

People with experience


Recent Tweets

Listed below are the most recent comments made on Twitter for "kava ceremony":