Skip to content »
Skip to second navigation »



نظرة على مدى المجد الجليدية من الشلال Gullfoss ، أيسلندا

نشرت by Tammy Burns, Writer

البلد: أيسلندا

التجربة

عندما تصل لأول مرة في Gullfoss (الكلمة بانها "شلالات الذهبي") ، فسوف يتساءل ما كل هذه الضجة حول. كنت نهج من أعلى ، أسفل النهر من حيث يقع غلبه النعاس ، وكما ترسمه أقرب ، يبدو وكأنه الصغيرة ، ولو جميلة ، الشلال. عليك التفكير ربما يبدو بعض الشيء المخيب للآمال أن يكون شلال الأكثر شهرة في ايسلندا ، ولكن بعد ذلك وأنت تمشي أقرب ، فسوف ندرك فجأة أن المياه التي تقع فقط... يختفي. وهذا هو ، حتى خطوة والأرض لا يزال يفتح فجأة أمامك ، ويترك لك يطل عليها في الاندفاع مدو من الماء وحاد جدا ، ضيقة جدا ، وانخفاض مذهل للغاية.

Gullfoss الشلال هو على نهر Hvítá ، وجزءا من الدائرة الذهبية الشهيرة -- وهي نهارية شعبية من ريكيافيك يتضمن Þingvellir الحديقة الوطنية وGeysir. كما أبعد نقطة من ريكيافيك ، انها عادة ما يتوقف الناس عن جعل النهائي بينما كان يقوم بجولة في المنطقة ، وأنه يترك انطباعا دائما.

قطرات Gullfoss الأولى منذ أكثر من سلسلة واسعة ، ونسج حولها وعلى قطع من الصخور السوداء ، قبل التحول إلى الاتجاه المعاكس ، والوقوع في مزيد من 32 مترا في الوادي الضيق. في حين أن انخفاض مثير للاعجاب ، انها قوة من الكثير من المياه التي عصرت في واد رقيقة من هذا القبيل تعطي شلالات الذهبي قوتهم رهيبة. واندفاع المياه يصم الآذان ، وعندما تكون الشمس هو الحق ، وقوس قزح يظهر في ضباب على السقوط.

طريقا يؤدي الى نتوء صخري في قاعدة السلسلة الاولى ، حيث يمكن للزوار الحصول على مقربة أنها يمكن أن تتكئ على وغمس أصابعهم في الماء إذا رغبت في ذلك (لا يوصى!). المسار هو حاد وزلق وشلالات والتنويم لأنها غوش الماضي. قطعة ضئيلة من حبل هو كل ما بمثابة درابزين على الطريق على طول الشلال Gullfoss ، لا تقدم الكثير من الراحة في سبيل الحماية. مليء دائما مساحة العرض مع مزيج من الناس -- أولئك أنفسهم الجرأة على الوقوف على حافة Gullfoss ، وتلك التي ضغطت ضد الجدران الصخرية في الوادي ، خائفا جدا للتحرك.

مثير للدهشة ، ودمر ما يقرب من جمال شلالات الذهبي في 1920s ، عندما كانت الحكومة الايسلندية شراكة مع مطور خاصة وتخطط لتحويل شلال في محطة للطاقة الكهرومائية. ورفض مالك الأرض ، توماس توماسون ، للبيع ، على الرغم من العروض التي تلقاها من العديد من المطورين الذين مشتهى فوق منطقة شلالات لسنوات. في عام 1907 ، واحدة تقدم الانكليزي 50 أضعاف ما مزرعة توماسون كان يستحق ، والتي وردت توماسون الشهيرة : "أنا لن تبيع صديقي".

عندما تجاهلت الحكومة توماسون وتدخلت مع خططها الخاصة لشلال Gullfoss ، Sigridur توماسون ابنة المبينة على رحلة لإنقاذ الأرض والدها. وهي تسير على طول الطريق الى ريكيافيك ، حيث هدد لرمي نفسها فوق منطقة شلالات إذا ذهب من خلال التنمية. فشل المطور وعلى الرغم من تهديد لها ، ورفضت الحكومة على التراجع ، حتى ، في 1928 ، إلى دفع رسوم استئجار وسقط المشروع من خلال. في عام 1975 ، كانت قد تبرعت الأرض إلى مجلس الايسلندي حماية الطبيعة. ومنذ ذلك الحين ، قد تم الحفاظ عليه كما Gullfoss حديقة وطنية.

صور

الخريطة

لغز

عند الذهاب إلىلGullfoss الشلال

افضل وقت للزيارة هو من Gullfoss مايو.-أغسطس. الطقس كما هو في أيسلندا بأحر ، هي في الأيام أطول ، وجميع الأماكن السياحية وتشغيلها. بطبيعة الحال ، وهذا يعني أيضا أنه عندما تكون البلاد في ازدحاما. إذا كنت تفضل أقل الحشود ، ولكن لا تزال تريد الراحة لاعتدال الطقس وأيام طويلة ، في زيارة أواخر نيسان / أبريل أو أوائل أيلول / سبتمبر. حذر من أن يكون مجرد العديد من الفنادق والمطاعم في المدن الصغيرة تعمل فقط خلال ذروة الموسم السياحي.

للراغبين في الشجعان الطقس البارد ، Gullfoss الشلال هو مذهل في فصل الشتاء ، عند أبواب يقع بدوره إلى بلورات الثلج ، والمنطقة كلها غطت الثلوج. بطبيعة الحال ، وهذا يعني أيضا المسار إلى فولز (حتى زلق في الصيف) والغادرة استثنائي ويتطلب الحذر.

Gullfoss تشكل جزءا من الدائرة الذهبية -- وهي المنطقة التي تضم الحديقة الوطنية Þingvellir وGeysir ، وهي نهارية شعبية من ريكيافيك. تعطي لنفسك يوما كاملا في اتخاذ كل ما في الدائرة الذهبية لهذا العرض.

خلاف ن 'ينتهي

لا يوجد رسم دخول لمشاهدة Gullfoss ، لذلك التكاليف الخاصة بك فقط وسيتم التعاقد مع تأجير السيارات أو مجموعة جولة ليأخذك. كامل الدائرة الذهبية هو محرك سهلة والمناظر الطبيعية الخلابة من ريكيافيك.

الطريق إلى شلالات الذهبي هو حاد وزلق -- خاصة إذا كان هناك رذاذ قوي -- والشيء الوحيد بينك وبين السقوط هو قطعة رقيقة من التمسك بحبل. بحذر.

كارب ديم! كتاب للقيام بهذه التجربة الآن!

تبدأ الجولة بزيارة لمحطة توليد الكهرباء Nesjavellir ، وهي منطقة الحرارية الأرضية في المناظر الطبيعية الخلابة للبحيرة Thingvallavatn (وهذا جزء من...
بدءا من 72،03 $ للشخص الواحد.

الفيديو

فيديو الجدار

أنت الآن نقله لدينا فيديو الجدار

مناقشة

واجه هذه والحصول على شيء للمشاركة؟ شهدت شيئا من هذا القبيل في مكان آخر؟ تبحث عن المشورة أو السفر الصحابة؟ استخدام هذا الفضاء لترك علامة الخاص. الكتاب والمحررين لدينا اكثر من سعداء للمساعدة في الإجابة على أسئلتك.

الناس من ذوي الخبرة


الناس الذين يرغبون في تجربة


الأخيرة تويت

المدرجة أدناه هي معظم التعليقات الأخيرة التي أدلى على التغريد ل "gullfoss الشلال":

Skip to content »
Skip to second navigation »



Gaze Out Over the Glacial Glory of Gullfoss Waterfall, Iceland

Published by Tammy Burns, Writer

Country: Iceland

The Experience

When you first arrive at Gullfoss (translated as the “Golden Falls”), you’ll wonder what all the fuss is about. You approach from the top, down river from where the falls drop off, and as you draw nearer, it looks like a small, albeit pretty, waterfall. You’ll probably think it seems a bit disappointing to be the most famous waterfall in Iceland, but then as you walk closer, you’ll suddenly realize that the falling water just… disappears. That is, until you step closer still and the ground abruptly opens in front of you, leaving you peering down at a thunderous rush of water and a very steep, very narrow, very startling drop.

Gullfoss waterfall is on the Hvítá river, and is part of the famous Golden Circle – a popular daytrip from Reykjavik that includes Þingvellir National Park and Geysir. As the furthest point from Reykjavik, it’s usually the final stop people make while touring the area, and it leaves a lasting impression.

The Gullfoss first drops over a wide cascade, weaving around and over chunks of black rock, before shifting to the opposite direction and falling a further 32 metres into a narrow canyon. While the drop is impressive, it’s the force of so much water being squeezed into such a thin ravine that gives the Golden Falls their awesome power. The rush of water is deafening, and when the sun is right, rainbows appear in the mist over the falls.

A pathway leads down to a rocky outcrop at the base of the first cascade, where visitors can get so close they could lean over and dip their fingers into the water if they so wished (not recommended!). The path is steep and slippery and the falls are hypnotizing as they gush past. A slim piece of rope is all that acts as a handrail down the path along Gullfoss waterfall, not offering much comfort in the way of protection. The viewing area is always filled with a mix of people – those daring themselves to stand on the edge of the Gullfoss, and those pressed up against the rocky walls of the canyon, too scared to move.

Amazingly, the beauty of the Golden Falls was almost destroyed in the 1920s, when the Icelandic government partnered with a private developer and planned to turn the waterfall into a hydroelectric power plant. The landowner, Tomas Tomasson, refused to sell, despite the offers he had received from numerous developers who had lusted over the falls for years. In 1907, one Englishman offered 50 times what Tomasson’s farmhouse was worth, to which Tomasson famously replied, “I won’t sell my friend.”

When the government ignored Tomasson and stepped in with their own plans for Gullfoss waterfall, Tomasson’s daughter Sigridur set out on a pilgrimage to save her father’s land. She walked all the way to Reykjavik, where she threatened to throw herself over the falls if the development went through. Despite her threat, the government refused to back down, until, in 1928, the developer failed to pay the rental fee and the project fell through. In 1975, the land was donated to the Icelandic Nature Conservation Council. Since then, Gullfoss has been preserved as a national park.

When to Go to Gullfoss Waterfall

The best time to visit Gullfoss is from May to August as Iceland's weather is at its warmest, the days are at their longest, and all tourist accommodations are up and running. Of course, it also means it's when the country is at its busiest. If you prefer less crowds, but still want the convenience of mild weather and long days, visit in late April or early September. Just be warned that many hotels and restaurants in the smaller towns only operate during peak tourist season.

For those willing to brave the cold weather, Gullfoss waterfall is stunning in the winter, when sections of the falls turn to ice crystals, and the entire area is blanketed in snow. Of course, that also means the path to the falls (slippery even in summer) is exceptionally treacherous and requires extra caution.

Gullfoss makes up part of the Golden Circle - an area that includes Þingvellir National Park and Geysir, and is a popular daytrip from Reykjavik. Give yourself a full day to take in all that the Golden Circle has to offer.

Odds n' Ends

There is no entrance fee to see Gullfoss, so your only costs will be hiring a car rental or tour group to take you. The entire Golden Circle is an easy and scenic drive from Reykjavik.

The path to the Golden Falls is steep and slippery – especially if there is a strong mist – and the only thing between you and the falls is a thin piece of rope to hold onto. Tread carefully.

Carpe Diem! Book to do this experience now!

The tour begins with a visit to the Nesjavellir power plant, a geothermal area in the picturesque landscape of Lake Thingvallavatn (this part of the ...
Starting from $72.03 per person.

Video

Video Wall

You are now being transfered to our Video Wall

Discussion

Experienced this and have something to share? Experienced something like this somewhere else? Looking for advise or travel companions? Use this space to leave your mark. Our writers and editors are more than happy to help answer your questions.

People with experience


People who wish to experience


Recent Tweets

Listed below are the most recent comments made on Twitter for "gullfoss waterfall":