Skip to content »
Skip to second navigation »



في محاولة لإبقاء العين على جائزة في الجبن هيل كوبر المتداول مهرجان

نشرت by Scottie Bakes, Writer

البلد: المملكة المتحدة

التجربة

ما يقرب من 200 سنة مضت ، قررت مجموعة من العباقرة أنه سيكون من المرح لمطاردة عجلة من الجبن أسفل تلة أشد يتمكنوا من العثور عليها. رغم عدم وجود معلومات محددة يصف كيف بدأ هذا دربي تعثر ، أو لماذا العجلة غلوسستر مزدوجة من جبن وجائزتها مطمعا ، هناك شيء واحد مؤكد ، وكوبر هيل الجبن المتداول المهرجان هو واحد من الأحداث السنوية في المملكة المتحدة أكثر من المتوقع. قبل اكتشاف بقية العالم فكرة البريطاني للمتعة فقط وحضر الاجتماع من جانب السكان المحليين ، ولكن على مدى السنوات شعبية من الجبن المتداول جلوسيسترشاير ونمت بشكل كبير ويجذب الآن المطاردون الجبن مجنون من جميع أنحاء العالم.

في نهاية كل أسبوع مايو طويل حفنة من الناس (في حالة سكر ، مجنون... على الأرجح على حد سواء) واتخاذ بقعة على خط البداية في أعلى التل كوبر ، وتقع في جلوسيسترشاير ، انجلترا. يطلقون عجلة من الجبن وأول شخص أسفل التل للقبض عليه يفوز. إذا كنت أتساءل لماذا تسمى هذه 'الجبن المتداول ودعا ليس' الجبن مطاردة نلقي نظرة سريعة على بعض الصور. انه من المستحيل البقاء على قدميك الطريق بالكامل إلى أسفل ، لذلك الحصول على بعض الملابس وعرة ، والتضخيم أو حتى حلي لافتة للنظر والاستعداد لبدء التنفيذ.

اليوم يبدأ مثل معظم الأعياد ، وجبة الإفطار الكامل الانجليزية أثنى مع بعض مكاييل وبعد ذلك كل على متن الحافلة التي ينبغي اتخاذها لكوبر هيل. لا يعني هذا هو الخاص بالحافلة المتوسط ، على هذا الباص بل هو شرط أن تفشي عشوائية من الكاريوكي تجري ، بمساعدة طبعا من المشروبات في بعض الأحيان. قد العازفين النموذجية تتضمن حزام النار ، Wonderwall وعدد قليل من كلاسيكيات الاسترالي. بعد سنتين ونصف ساعة بالسيارة من لندن ان الوقت قد حان لممارسة بعض التمارين الرياضية ؛ مجرد ساعة خفيفة وارتفاع في نصف هيل كوبر.

مع بالأقدام خط البداية ، وهذه هي المرة الأولى واقع كيف حاد هيل كوبر هو حقا ، فجر. مع ما يقرب من عشرين شخصا في سباق مئة وآخر ينتظر ، صمت السقوط وارباك المشاركين في مهب الريح كما توقع يبني. في ومضة وبدا القرن والجميع يبدأ سباق التل ، لا تزال بعض على أقدامهم ، وبعض الألعاب البهلوانية تفعل غير منسقة. على الرغم من أن كثيرين سيأتون مع خطة اللعبة على كيفية المناورة أسفل التل كوبر ، كل الرهانات عندما ندرك تشغيل الخاص وكأنه من العمر ثلاث سنوات من الذي قدم لا يمكن أن يتماشى مع أجسادهم ، ومنذ تلك اللحظة يصبح طمس من الأرض ، السماء ، والطين.

في أسفل التل كوبر ، لغضبنا مذهلة أبلغنا أن يستخدم فقط مطمعا عجلة غلوسستر مزدوجة من جبن في السباقات الخمسة الاولى. لذلك إذا كنت تنوي المشاركة في مهرجان الجبن المتداول في محاولة للحصول في السباقات الخمسة الأولى أن تكون هناك فرصة في البداية مع بعض الجبن.

على الرغم من أن قليلا خطيرة ، كوبر هيل الجبن المتداول مهرجان الاحمال من المرح والاندفاع تماما فريدة من نوعها. لا أذكر أيضا حقوق المفاخرة تحصل لكونه قادرا على القول هل شاركت في واحدة من الرياضات جنونا إسبن. إذا لم تتمكن من جعله على قمة تلة كوبر على المشاركة ، كما متفرجا انها لا تزال اليوم فرحان آخذة في السقوط لا يمكن السيطرة عليها وقذفات المشاركين.

عند الذهاب إلىلجبن هيل كوبرز رولينج

ويعقد كوبر هيل الجبن المتداول مهرجان يوم الاثنين الماضي مايو بالتزامن مع عطلة الربيع البنك. لسوء الحظ ، تم إلغاء مهرجان الجبن المتداول لعام 2010 نظرا لعدد متزايد من الناس الذين يحضرون. في عام 2009 ما يقرب من 15 ، 000 شخصا حضروا ، أي ثلاثة أضعاف عدد سكان المنطقة التي تجري فيها انه سيجعل إعادته في 2011 الذي يتوقع أن يكون لها أكبر تتحول بعد. حتى إذا كنت تخطط للذهاب إلى كوبر هيل مهرجان الجبن المتداول في عام 2011 تأكد من أنك في وقت مبكر هناك أو قد تفوت.

خلاف ن 'ينتهي

أفضل طريقة للاستمتاع كوبر هيل الجبن المتداول المهرجان هو في شركة جيدة من الأصدقاء ، وبعض المشروبات بزوغ تعرق خيرة أو حلي. كل عام وهناك اصابات في أي مكان من هزات لكسور في العظام ، لذلك إذا كنت تنوي المشاركة في أن تكون مستعدة لالمطبات وكدمات التي تأتي جنبا إلى جنب مع ركوب.


الفيديو

فيديو الجدار

أنت الآن نقله لدينا فيديو الجدار

مناقشة

واجه هذه والحصول على شيء للمشاركة؟ شهدت شيئا من هذا القبيل في مكان آخر؟ تبحث عن المشورة أو السفر الصحابة؟ استخدام هذا الفضاء لترك علامة الخاص. الكتاب والمحررين لدينا اكثر من سعداء للمساعدة في الإجابة على أسئلتك.

الأخيرة تويت

المدرجة أدناه هي معظم التعليقات الأخيرة التي أدلى على التغريد ل "كوبر هيل الجبن المتداول":

Skip to content »
Skip to second navigation »



Try to Keep Your Eye on the Prize at the Cooper's Hill Cheese Rolling Festival

Published by Scottie Bakes, Writer

Country: United Kingdom

The Experience

Roughly 200 years ago a group of geniuses decided it would be fun to chase a wheel of cheese down the steepest hill they could find. Although there is no concrete information describing how this tumble derby began, or why the Double Gloucester wheel of cheese is its coveted prize, one thing is for sure, the Cooper's Hill Cheese Rolling Festival is one of the UK's most anticipated annual events. Before the rest of the world discovered the Brit's idea of fun it was attended only by locals, but over the years the popularity of Gloucestershire's cheese rolling has grown immensely and now attracts crazy cheese chasers from around the world.

Every May long weekend a bunch of people (drunk, crazy... most likely both) take their spot on the starting line at the top of Cooper's Hill, located in Gloucestershire, England. They release a wheel of cheese and the first person down the hill to catch it wins. If you're wondering why it's called 'Cheese Rolling' and not called 'Cheese Chasing' take a quick look at some of the photos. It's impossible to stay on your feet the entire way down, so get some rugged clothes, padding or even an eye-catching costume and get ready to roll.

The day starts off like most holidays, a full English breakfast complimented with some pints and then all aboard a bus to be taken to Cooper's Hill. By no means is this your average bus ride, on this bus it is a requirement that random outbreaks of karaoke take place, aided of course by the occasional beverage. Typical playlists might include Ring of Fire, Wonderwall and a few Aussie classics. After the two and a half hour drive from London it's time for some exercise; just a light hour and a half hike up Cooper's Hill.

With the starting line underfoot, it is the first time the reality of how steep Cooper's Hill really is, dawns. With roughly twenty people per race and another hundred waiting, a silence falls and participants stagger in the wind as the anticipation builds. In a flash the horn is sounded and everyone starts racing the hill, some still on their feet and some already doing uncoordinated acrobatics. Although many come in with a game plan on how to maneuver down Cooper's Hill, all bets are off when you realize your running like a three year old who's feet can't keep up with their body, and from that point on it becomes a blur of ground, sky, and mud.

At the bottom of Cooper's Hill, to our dizzying discontent we were informed that the coveted Double Gloucester wheel of cheese is only used in the first five races. So if you plan on participating in the Cheese Rolling Festival try to get in the first five races to have a chance at taking home some cheese.

Although a bit dangerous, Cooper's Hill Cheese Rolling Festival is loads of fun and quite the unique rush. Not too mention the bragging rights you get for being able to say you participated in one of ESPN's craziest sports. If you can't make it to the top of Cooper's Hill to participate, as a spectator it’s still a hilarious day taking in the uncontrollable tumbles and tosses of participants.

When to Go to Coopers Hill Cheese Rolling

The Cooper's Hill Cheese Rolling Festival is held on the last Monday in May in concurrence with the Spring Bank Holiday. Unfortunately, the Cheese Rolling Festival has been cancelled for 2010 due to the growing number of people attending. In 2009 roughly 15, 000 people attended, which is three times the population of the area it takes place in. It will make it's return in 2011 which is expected to be its largest turn out yet. So if you're planning to go to the Cooper's Hill Cheese Rolling Festival in 2011 make sure you're there early or you may miss out.

Odds n' Ends

The best way to enjoy the Cooper's Hill Cheese Rolling Festival is the in company of good friends, some beverages and dawning your finest sweats or costume. Every year there are injuries anywhere from concussions to broken bones, so if you do plan on participating be prepared for the bumps and bruises that come along with the ride.


Video

Video Wall

You are now being transfered to our Video Wall

Language Guides

French , Hindi , Italian , Japanese , Mandarin , Portugese , Turkish , Vietnamese are some of the languages spoken in United Kingdom. If you know of a freely available phrase book or podcast for one of the missing languages, let us know!


Discussion

Experienced this and have something to share? Experienced something like this somewhere else? Looking for advise or travel companions? Use this space to leave your mark. Our writers and editors are more than happy to help answer your questions.

Recent Tweets

Listed below are the most recent comments made on Twitter for "coopers hill cheese rolling":