Skip to content »
Skip to second navigation »



حائل الكتاب القديمة من طليطلة في دبلن

نشرت by Bill Lehane, Writer

البلد: أيرلندا

التجربة

واحد من الكتب في العالم أقدم وأجمل ، وأصبح كتاب كلس لا بد لأي زائر لرؤية دبلن. كتاب كلس على عرض في ايرلندا أقدم والخلابة معظم جامعة ترينيتي كولدج ، الذي يمثل الحرم الجامعي لكثير من دبلن مركز جدا من العاصمة الايرلندية.

هذا الكتاب الرائع يحتوي على الأناجيل الأربعة من العهد الجديد باللغة اللاتينية مكتوبة على (جلد العجل المعالجة) الرق ، وكان يتضح بدقة من قبل الرهبان الايرلندي حول 800 قبل الميلاد العام. تاريخ كتاب كلس يكاد يكون ملحوظا كذلك الدقة الحرفية التي يحتوي عليها. وكان كتاب البداية كلس 'أول دير كلس في مقاطعة ميث القريبة ، حيث حملة طويلة الأمد للحصول على الكتاب الشهير مرة أخرى لا تزال حتى يومنا هذا. ومع ذلك ، تكمن جذورها أعمق لا يزال في سانت Columcille ، أيضا من ميث ، الذي انتقل إلى الجزيرة الاسكتلندية الآن من إيونا (آنذاك جزءا من ايرلندا) في وقت قريب الكتاب وقدم وأنشأت scriptorium لإنشاء الكتب المقدسة. فر هجوم من قبل الفايكنكز في 806 ميلادي ، Columcille وزملائه الرهبان Columban العودة إلى طليطلة ، حيث تم إنشاء إما كتاب كلس من الصفر أو الانتهاء بعد أن بدأت في إيونا (لا أحد يعرف على وجه التحديد). وظل كتاب كلس في البلدة بعد إنشائه حتى 1654 ، عندما تم نقله إلى كلية ترينيتي لحفظها وسط حملة الإنجليزية زعيم أوليفر كرومويل السياسية والدينية في ايرلندا. وقد ظلت هناك منذ ذلك الحين.

أما بالنسبة للداخل من الكتاب ، والاستعداد لعيد للعيون. كتاب كلس أكثر مزينة ببذخ مما كنت اعتقد من أي وقت مضى الممكنة للكتاب 1200 عاما) التي رسمها الرهبان باستخدام الحبر ، مع ضوء النهار فقط ، والشموع للاسترشاد بها. هو الغني بالصور كل صفحة واحدة ، مع الحيوانات الصغيرة أو شخصيات البشر الانتباه الى حروف مزخرفة تلك النعمة في بداية كل قسم رئيسي. وكانت حتى ولو كانت كل صفحة تقريبا حجم ورقة مقاس A4 الحديثة من الورق ، وإضافة المزيد من الرسوم إلى أي مكان آخر على المخطوطة أنها يمكن تركيبها.

ومن شأن أي زيارة لكتاب كلس لن يكون كاملا من دون السير نحو المكتبة القديمة حيث يوجد مقرها في كلية ترينيتي. مكتبة القرن 19 غرفة طويلة مشهورة في حد ذاتها باعتبارها واحدة من أجمل bookrooms في العالم. هنا سوف تجد العديد من أقدم الكتب في ايرلندا ، فضلا عن تماثيل نصفية من الكتاب سلتيك الشهيرة. يتم الاحتفاظ القيثارة من بريان بورو ، ملك ايرلندا التاريخية ، هنا أيضا ، فضلا عن النسخة الأصلية من إعلان الاستقلال 1916.

صور

الخريطة

لغز

عند الذهاب إلىإلى كتاب كلس

أفضل وقت في السنة لزيارة دبلن هو الصيف ، لأنه يوفر أفضل فرصة لكليمنت الطقس معقول وربما حتى بعض أشعة الشمس! وعلى الرغم مؤخرا في صيف 2007 أمطرت لمدة 40 يوما في صف واحد ، حتى يكون مستعدا للحصول على الرطب!

ثمانية وسبعون مختلف شركات الطيران من مختلف أنحاء العالم جوا الى مطار دبلن ، مركزا في البلاد المطار الرئيسي. لذا نتوقع أن تكون مزدحمة. الاختيار على الانترنت محركات الحجز عن أرخص الصفقات. وصلنا الى المدينة من المطار مباشرة ، مع مخصص الحافلات Aircoach تقديم التحويلات المباشرة إلى المدينة والفنادق الرئيسية لعودة الولايات المتحدة 18 $.

في حين أن الصيف هو موسم الذروة بالنسبة للسياح ، يجب أن تكون قادرة على الحصول على حوالي بسهولة لأن العديد من السكان المحليين سيكون في عطلة. وينبغي حجز الإقامة مقدما ولكن. التجول في وسط المدينة هو الأكثر بسهولة القيام به نفسه من قبل مجموعة من السكك الحديدية الخفيفة والحافلات والقطارات وسيرا على الأقدام اعتمادا على وجهتك. لن تحتاج لاستئجار سيارة لرؤية كتاب كلس -- تقريبا جميع الطرق حافلة إنهاء دبلن في غضون دقائق من كلية ترينيتي.

خلاف ن 'ينتهي

انقسم الى أربعة مجلدات في الآونة الأخيرة ، إلا جزئين من كتاب كلس على عرض في وقت واحد. وسيكون أحد مفتوحا على صفحة عرض الخط سلتيك تستخدم لكتابة الانجيل ، بينما مفتوحة على الصفحة الرئيسية التوضيح. هذه هي استدارة بانتظام. أن ندرك أن هذا يتوقف على الوقت من زيارتك ، قد يكون هناك حشد من الناس حول القضايا الزجاج أنه سيكون لديك للتنقل للحصول على عرض أقرب.

ساعات العمل من الاثنين حتى السبت 09:30 حتي 5:00 ، الاحد (أكتوبر مايو) 0:00 حتي 4:00 ، الاحد (يونيو ، سبتمبر) 9:30 حتي 4:30 ، وإغلاق قصيرة خلال عيد الميلاد. أسعار التذاكر هي الولايات المتحدة حوالي 10 $.

كارب ديم! كتاب للقيام بهذه التجربة الآن!

الدخول مجانا إلى 27 من كبار الجذب السياحي الزائر دبلن : هناك 27 مناطق الجذب المتوفرة على تمرير دبلن الخاص ، لذلك ترى أكثر ، وأكثر لك...
بدءا من 69،50 $ للشخص الواحد.

الفيديو

فيديو الجدار

أنت الآن نقله لدينا فيديو الجدار

مناقشة

واجه هذه والحصول على شيء للمشاركة؟ شهدت شيئا من هذا القبيل في مكان آخر؟ تبحث عن المشورة أو السفر الصحابة؟ استخدام هذا الفضاء لترك علامة الخاص. الكتاب والمحررين لدينا اكثر من سعداء للمساعدة في الإجابة على أسئلتك.

الناس من ذوي الخبرة


الأخيرة تويت

المدرجة أدناه هي معظم التعليقات الأخيرة التي أدلى على التغريد ل "كتاب كلس":

Skip to content »
Skip to second navigation »



Hail the Ancient Book of Kells in Dublin

Published by Bill Lehane, Writer

Country: Ireland

The Experience

One of the world's oldest and most beautiful books, The Book of Kells has become a must-see for any visitor to Dublin. The Book of Kells is on display in Ireland's oldest and most picturesque university Trinity College, whose campus represents for many Dubliners the very centre of the Irish capital.

This remarkable book contains the four Gospels of the New Testament in Latin written on vellum (treated calfskin), and was meticulously illustrated by Irish monks around the year 800 BC. The history of The Book of Kells is almost as remarkable as the precision craftsmanship it contains. The Book of Kells' first home was the Abbey of Kells in nearby County Meath, where a long-running campaign to get the famous book back continues to this day. However, its roots lie deeper still in Saint Columcille, also of Meath, who moved to the now Scottish island of Iona (then part of Ireland) around the time the book was made and established a scriptorium for the creation of holy books. Attacked by Vikings in AD 806, Columcille and his fellow Columban monks fled back to Kells, where the Book of Kells was either created from scratch or completed after being started in Iona (nobody knows for sure). The Book of Kells remained in the town after it was created until 1654, when it was taken to Trinity College for safekeeping amid English leader Oliver Cromwell's political and religious campaign in Ireland. It has remained there ever since.

As for the inside of the book, prepare for a feast for the eyes. The Book of Kells is more lavishly decorated than you would ever think possible for a 1,200-year-old book painted by monks using ink, with only daylight and candlelight to guide them. Every single page is richly illustrated, with tiny animal or human figures drawn into ornate capital letters that grace the beginning of each principal section. And even though each page was roughly the size of a modern A4 sheet of paper, more drawings were added to anywhere else on the manuscript that they could be fitted.

Any visit to the Book of Kells would not be complete without a walk around the Old Library where it is housed in Trinity College. The library's 19th-Century Long Room is famous in its own right as one of the world's prettiest bookrooms. Here you will find many of the oldest books in Ireland, as well as busts of famous Celtic writers. The harp of Brian Boru, a historical king of Ireland, is also kept here, as well as an original copy of the 1916 Proclamation of Independence.

Photos

Map

Puzzle

When to Go to Book Of Kells

The best time of year to visit Dublin is the summer, because it offers the best chance of reasonably clement weather and perhaps even some sunshine! Although as recently as summer 2007 it rained for 40 days in a row, so be prepared to get wet!

Seventy-eight different airlines from around the world fly to Dublin Airport, the country's main airport hub. So expect it to be crowded. Check online booking engines for the cheapest deals. Getting to the city from the airport is straightforward, with dedicated Aircoach buses offering direct transfers to the city and principal hotels for US$18 return.

While summer is high season for tourists, you should be able to get around easily because many locals will be on holiday. Accommodation should be booked in advance however. Getting around the city centre itself is most easily done by a combination of light rail, bus, train and on foot depending on your destination. You won’t need to rent a car to see the Book of Kells – almost all Dublin Bus routes terminate within minutes of Trinity College.

Odds n' Ends

Split into four volumes in more recent times, only two parts of the Book of Kells is on display at any one time. One will be open on a page showing the Celtic calligraphy used to write the Gospel, while another is open on a major illustration page. These are rotated regularly. Be aware that depending on the time of your visit, there may be a crowd around the glass cases that you will have to navigate around to get a closer view.

Opening hours are Monday through Saturday 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Sunday (Oct–May) 12 a.m. to 4 p.m., Sunday (June–Sept) 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and a short closure over Christmas. Ticket prices are approximately US$10.

Carpe Diem! Book to do this experience now!

FREE ENTRY to 27 of Dublin's top visitor attractions:There are 27 attractions available on your Dublin Pass, so the more you see, the more you ...
Starting from $69.50 per person.

Video

Video Wall

You are now being transfered to our Video Wall

Discussion

Experienced this and have something to share? Experienced something like this somewhere else? Looking for advise or travel companions? Use this space to leave your mark. Our writers and editors are more than happy to help answer your questions.

People with experience


Recent Tweets

Listed below are the most recent comments made on Twitter for "book of kells":